American Naprapathic Association

The American Naprapathic Association (ANA) is the nation's oldest and largest association of Naprapaths. Originally founded in 1909, the ANA is a non-profit organization whose members are dedicated to protecting, preserving, promoting and expanding the manual medicine discipline of Naprapathy in all of its endeavors.

Membership is open to all individuals with a Doctor of Naprapathy (D.N.) degree or who is otherwise licensed to practice Naprapathy in their State. There are also Affiliated Memberships and Student/Intern memberships available for those who are studying to be Naprapaths or who have been trained in Naprapathic technique by ANA-approved schools in unlicensed states.

All of our members have a strong commitment to the philosophy, art and science of manual medicine as originally conceived by Dr. Oakley Smith, DN, exercise rehabilitation, postural ergonomics, sound holistic nutritional advice and advancing the profession through evidence-based medicine that supports the basis of naprapathy and manual medicine in general.

Membership in this organization provides a multitude of benefits. First and foremost, the ANA strives to expand the profession and monitors and supports legislation that enhances the professional growth of the science of Naprapathy.

 The ANA schedules bi-annual conventions providing excellent continuing health care education and opportunities for networking with health care colleagues. We are a State of Illinois Approved Sponsor for Illinois-licensed Doctors of Naprapathy.

Presenters come from around the world sharing their knowledge and experience in manual medicine and related disciplines. The annual conventions and various other educational seminars offer you an opportunity to meet colleagues and form valuable supportive friendships with others sharing similar views.

As a member of the ANA you will receive significant discounts to ANA sponsored educational seminars. You are also eligible for membership in any ANA-approved state association of Naprapathy.

Because ANA is the leader in the field of Naprapathic medicine, we are recognized by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation as the primary organization that accredits Naprapathy in Illinois.

According to the State of Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations  per the Illinois Naprapathic Act Rules, the American Naprapathic Association provides curriculum oversight for all Naprapathic higher educational institutions in Illinois.


The ANA is pleased to announce our Semi-Annual Convention, as well as a Very Special Holiday Dinner to follow the Convention and ANA Meeting on December 9th, 2018 at the Holiday Inn Southwest in Countryside, IL.

This special evening will include a plaque presentation and a dinner to help us honor the overwhelming and continuous support we have received for well over 2 decades from IL Representative Daniel J Burke. The entire profession is invited to come honor his service to the residents of Illinois and, more specifically, to our livelihoods.

 We are happy to announce that the positions for the 2018 Board of Directors received unanimous approval from the ANA Members-in-Good-Standing and are as follows:

President - Wayne Cichowicz, DN
Vice President - Shante Griggs, DN, PharmD
Secretary - James Hutchins, DN
Treasurer - Inna Nikogosian, DN
Director of Membership - Mary Cavender, DN
Director of Continuing Education - Rindie Coker, DN
Director of Business Affairs - Nicholas Lorenz, DN
Director - Daniel Varanauski, DN
Director - (OPEN)

Watch this space for updates for the next Continuing Education convention. If you wish to request certain types of presentations, please contact our NEW Director of Continuing Education, Dr Rindie Coker, at

See you next time!


Website Builder